Sentence Contest – Week Six

For those who weren’t aware, yesterday was Star Wars Day…May the Fourth Be With You! So I thought I should come up with a Star Wars-themed beginning sentence for my students to work with. I had sentences that included Yoda, Darth Vader, Luke and Leia; there was even one that had Jar-Jar Binks as the subject. But knowing that I actually have a few students who have never seen any of the Star Wars movies (I know…it shocked me too!), I decided to go with “Luke ran home.”

The form for this week’s voting can be found below. We would greatly appreciate your vote by Thursday, May 7th, at 11:59 p.m. Thank you!

Last week’s winning sentence was written by Julia:

The majestic bald eagle soared slowly over the rolling hills dense with evergreen trees; gliding, dipping, and spiraling effortlessly before finally landing softly and silently on a high branch.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a comment