Sentence Contest – Final Week

Many, many thanks to everyone who has taken the time each week to vote on my students’ sentences. I’ve loved reading the sentences they’ve written, but I’ve loved watching them strive to do better each week even more.

Hmmm…I wonder if they’d like to continue this contest throughout the summer. No?

Anyway…since this is our last week of school, it will also be our last sentence contest. Appropriately, it will also be the theme of our last sentence contest. I gave students the sentence starter, “It was the last day of school and…” and asked them to finish it. They came up with some great ideas, several of which had me crying in a corner somewhere. Tears of joy, my friends, tears of joy!

Voting this week will close Wednesday, June 3rd, at 11:59 p.m. Our last day of school is Thursday!

The winning sentence from last week was:

I walked through the door and found the unlikely site of my brother working tirelessly over a feast of golden caramelized turkey, soft steamed vegetables, and an unknown desert that hid behind a cloud of powdered sugar.

Written by Laura

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a comment