R.I.P. Big Dog

Thanksgiving 2009

Amongst all the happy moments of this Christmas vacation, there is one tremendously sad note. Yesterday I received the news that McBro and McSis-in-Law had to say a final farewell to Conner, the coolest dog ever. The Big Dog was well over one hundred years old (in dog years), and had lived a good, happy life. With a tongue that was always ready to lick the lotion right off your legs (you never know…it might be jelly!), and a tail that could wreak havoc wherever it swung, Conner found a special place in my heart from the first time I saw him.

Of course, Conner was so much more than a dog.

Conner was family from the moment he walked into our lives.

How could you not love this face!?!

Or this one!?!

And while we humans might miss this face more than we ever thought possible, there is one amongst us who will miss Conner more than we can know. Little sister, Grendel.

Conner Gets a Smooch from Grendel

Farewell, old man! I hope Heaven is stocked with chewies, squirrels to chase, toys to play tug-o-war with, a big, cushy ball to lay your head on, and lots and lots of cheese.

7 Comments

Filed under Family

7 responses to “R.I.P. Big Dog

  1. Awww … so sorry to hear your sad news! I’ve had to say, “goodbye,” to a number of dogs now, and it’s never easy. Conner looks like a fantastic dog! Thinking about you and your family during this difficult time …

    Take care!
    Aviva

  2. Lee

    I’m so sorry, Karen. We are a dog family. I’ve had dogs all my life and I know how they truly become a part of your family. Just know that he has surely done his job well if he is missed so dearly. Those who leave us always leave the best parts of themselves behind: shared memories. My thoughts are with you.

    • McTeach

      Thanks, Lee! What a great way to think about it…”Those who leave us…” Great line!

      I truly appreciate your thoughts! I hope The Big Dog knows how very much he was loved!

  3. Cassidy

    I’m so sorry that had 2 happen Miss McMillan! I can’t wait to see you again!! Happy holidays!
    -Cassidy #70awesome

  4. Elsa

    I’m so sorry to hear about your familys doggie. We love our black lab and can’t imagine our family w/o him. It sounds like Connor was very much loved and will be missed.

  5. Cecilia Lopez

    So sorry for your loss! It is sure hard to let go of our loving pets.

Leave a Reply

