Random Acts of Kindness At School

A Note To My Colleagues at CTK:

On Monday, you should have discovered a note to you either on your door (if you have one) or in your box in the faculty room. While the great majority of those notes were left for you anonymously, I feel I should at least let you know…it was us! The Seventh Grade. I’m not sharing which student created which note, but I thought you might like to know that the class as a whole was thinking of you.

The purpose of the notes is explained below in a portion of a post I wrote for another blog. Yesterday I had my students reflect on the experience and the comments they shared were overwhelmingly positive. They loved the experience! Everyone agreed that it’s important to let the people in our lives know that they are appreciated for who they are and for the part they play in our lives.

And now it’s your turn. We would love to hear from you about the notes we left around campus. Here are some of the questions the seventh grade came up with yesterday:

  • What was your first reaction when you found your note?
  • Did you know who the note was from? Have any ideas? Were you curious at all?
  • What did you do with your note?
  • Would you be willing to “pay it forward” and write positive notes like ours for the people (or even strangers) in your life? Perhaps a note for someone else here at school?
  • How can we make Random Acts of Kindness something we do more frequently here?
  • Do you have any questions for us?

If you would be so kind, we would love to hear from you in a comment to this post. If you’ve never left a blog comment before, it’s very simple. Directly below the title of the post you will see either “Leave A Comment” or “# Comments” (where # = the number of comments already added). Click on that link and you will be sent to a new page where you can enter your comment. You will be asked for your name, email address (which is required, but remains private), and your website (which is not required. Most people use that box to enter their blog or wiki address.) Use the last box to add your comment and then click “Submit.” That’s it!

We are looking forward to hearing from you! Thank you for your help with our project!

[The following is a portion of the blog post I wrote for the Just A Thought blog]:

Last week was Random Acts of Kindness Week. To celebrate, I asked each of my seventh graders to make one card. Actually, they were more like large notes…one for each and every person who works on our campus. The notes were to be anonymous and had to contain some sort of positive message for all the people at our school who make a difference in the lives of our children. We would deliver them in secret, hopefully, leaving them someplace that their recipient would find them and, again…hopefully…enjoy a moment of appreciation.

Each of my students drew a name out of a hat. Well, not so much a “hat” as a small cardboard box that I just happened to have on my desk. I made note of which student had each member of the faculty and staff, and the students set about making their cards. While I was walking around the room, one of the girls asked me if my name was in the box. I told her I’d kept my name out as we had more grown-ups on campus than I had students.

Care to guess what that student did?

Wait…I’m getting ahead of myself. More on that later.

So today we delivered our notes. All over campus! It was quite amusing to watch these goofy seventh graders trying to tape large notes to classroom doors without being spotted! I even had to run interference for one pair who was trying to tape a note to the Health Room door with its recipient sitting about two feet from them! The two boys got the biggest kick out of that. You would have thought we were secret agents or something.

One of my favorite moments came when I was standing in the computer lab and watched as three of my students delivered their notes to the small office off of the library (we call it the Hot Dog Room for some reason). These students were practically giddy as they snuck into the small room. I had thought they were just going to tape their notes to the door, as we had discussed, but they decided to take advantage of the fact that no one was in that office at the time. They taped three notes to the door and then ventured inside to deliver two more notes.



We had our note adventures late in the day today, so we haven’t yet heard any reaction from anyone on campus except for our school secretary. The student who drew Mrs. Wilson’s name actually taped her note to the large window that Mrs. Wilson sits behind. Nothing secret agent-like about that one, I’m afraid.

Tomorrow I’m going to ask my students to write a reflection on this experience and then ask members of the faculty and staff to share their thoughts as well. You can count on hearing more about this…hopefully tomorrow!

Oh, I guess before I sign off I should share with you what was waiting for me on my door when we got back from computers:


McTeachy. [sigh]

15 Comments

Filed under Students

15 responses to “Random Acts of Kindness At School

  1. Sue Howard

    Thank You Thank You Thank You
    The CLUB staff was so excited to see our notes, we are so proud of them we have left them on the door for all to see! It is so nice to know that our efforts are appreciated especially by the students. Thank You 7th grade we know that our school will be in great hands next year with you as our leaders.
    CLUB

  2. Dan deGennaro

    Thanks for the uplifting note. I was very surprised at first until I saw notes on the other classroom doors and knew someone was inspired. I really appreciate your support and saved the note near my desk.

  3. Cecilia Lopez

    When I opened the door to the “Hot Dog Room” – which, by the way I believe we should re-name, I saw a wonderful note in Spanish for me! First, it brought a smile on my face and I felt happy to see that my students were behind this. Second, I was thrilled to see that whoever wrote this note, did an excellent job in spelling correctly their Spanish- accents and all! Who could have done this? I immediately wanted to thank the person (or persons) behind this note that just made my day! It made me feel wonderful when I thought someone took the time to thank me for something I do every day…teach Spanish. Your note made my day brighter. Sometimes teaching Spanish is hard, especially in the Junior High years, because it involves learning the proper grammar, and lots of memorization, homework and practice. I first thought this note came from the younger kids, when we still have it a lot easier and have more time to have fun. What a surprise when I learned it was my 7th graders who posted the note on my door!
    Thank you guys, you do not know how much this meant to me. Lately we’ve not seen each other eye-to-eye. This note made me remember that although sometimes we get stuck on grammar or on a subject that takes more effort to master, you are always a wonderful group of students. I am proud of you and all you are learning and becoming.
    Desde el fondo de mi corazón les digo “Gracias”!

  4. Cecilia Lopez

    P. S. (from Señora Lopez)
    I kept the note on my cubicle to remind me of this beautiful act of kindness and the wonderful feeling it brought to me.

  5. Marianne Carini

    Thank you for the sweet note. After a long day it put a smile on my face. It was fun for me to watch the students running around and putting the notes on the doors trying to be very quiet!!(Kindergarten was outside for recess)
    Keep up the good work!

  6. Carol Alonso

    I was sweetly surprised to find your message in my box. I put it on my bulletin board and smile every time I see it.
    I wondered who had written the message, and had no idea, since I visit every class for music. However, since I only do the composer word searches with grades 6 and 7, that clue narrowed it down for me.
    Thank you again for making me laugh, and for keeping me smiling!
    Love,
    Mrs. Alonso

  7. Mrs. Carroll

    Hi 7th Graders!
    Thank you for the wonderful surprise I found on the door to the Library! You just can’t believe what a difference that can make to someone. It made my day!You took the time to think of me and make a difference.I appreciate the kind words and thoughts!
    I hope the rest of your 7th grade year is really great for you!
    Love and thanks! Mrs. Carroll

  8. Mrs. Bucci

    Miss McMillan and 7th graders,

    What a wonderful treat is was to receive your Math puzzle message! I have it on my office door. It makes me feel so happy every time I see it! You are so very, very nice. Also, 7th grade, YOU ROCK!!!!!

  9. Christina Davis

    Thank you for the beautiful detailed note! I had a feeling it was from some 7th graders since there was a volleyball on it and I coached some of you last season! After a long day with the little 1st graders your surprise note made me happy! I put my note on my file cabinet next to my desk! It reminds me that I am truly appreciated as a teacher and coach at CTK. Thank you 7th Grade!

  10. What a super idea! In this age of globalization and “hands off”, something hands on and local had amazing personal impact.

  11. What fun to hear the reactions! Now I wish that you had video taped the students in their random acts of kindness!

  12. Mrs. Meyer

    I truly appreciated the note you left for me! It made me smile! I had no idea who left it and it was fun trying to figure it out! Thanks for your kindness!
    xoxoxoxox

  13. Hollee Maffeo

    Thank you for the nice note 7th grade. I had a feeling that it was from you!!! It’s still on my door for everyone to see! I think it was a great idea and we should all do it year round.

  14. k5technology

    What a great gesture! Too often these actions get left out of school. Thanks for doing this with your students!

  15. karen bailey

    Thanks so much for the awesome note that was right in front of my nose!!! Makes me think how many things I miss that are right in front of me. You are right…social studies rocks and so does the 7th grade!!! I so miss teaching all of you! Mrs. Bailey

Leave a Reply

