Ready For Day Two

DSC_0141

Good Morning from the teacher’s cabin! It’s about 6:30 a.m. and this teacher is enjoying some quiet time before the chaos begins. We have breakfast at 8:00 this morning and then the kids will be off to get ready for their first “big” hike. While they’re away, I’ll be writing my blog post about the bus ride (did you know that children moo?) It will be posted here: Miss McMillan Goes to Camp.

At dinner last night I sat with Julie, Patrick K., Justin B., Caitlin C., and Shannon B. As soon as I sat down I asked, “So, how was everybody’s first day?”

“Good!”

Note to self: Ask better questions!

Judging by all of the smiles and laughter (and the amount of spaghetti and breadsticks consumed), I think their day was oh so much better than “good”.

2 Comments

Filed under Camp Caritas

2 responses to “Ready For Day Two

  1. Judy

    So great to hear from you! I think I speak for mos, if not all of us when I say, “You are a saint for riding on that bus with those kids!!” I hope you carry earplugs. By the way, we had a ‘why Miss McMillan is so awesome’ discussion at the dinner table last night (side note….so weird not having Patrick at the table to antagonize the girls). One comment: “Miss McMillan totally takes care of everybody and makes sure everyone is okay, but isn’t all mom-ish about it. Which is just so great.” I’m not sure if I’m offended or not!!.

  2. Mark Ciabattari

    Actually, the “good” response is better than I expected. With Scott, we usually hear a non-descriptive “grunt” when we ask, “So, how was your day at school?”

Leave a Reply

